Emergency Medical Services - Ambulance Service

Franklin County Emergency Management Agency, subject to the direction and control of the Chief Elected Official, shall oversee and manage Franklin County’s interests as it relates to Emergency Medical Service (EMS). The Director of Emergency Management or his or her designee will oversee and manage Franklin County's efforts to provide emergency medical services to the public. The Director will liaison and oversee all authorized county-level EMS transportation providers to ensure adequate services are being provided in accordance with Franklin County's established operational standards and requirements for county-level EMS transportation providers. The Franklin County Board, through their established processes will authorize county-level EMS transportation providers at their discretion.

In 2012, the Franklin County Board signed an exclusive agreement with Mission Care of Illinois (American Medical Response - Abbott EMS) to provide emergency medical service and transportation to the citizens of Franklin County excluding Denning and Frankfort Township which is serviced by the West Frankfort Fire Department. 

Click on the documents below to review all documents concerning the Franklin County agreement and supporting documentation. 

Any comments, questions, or concerns regarding EMS service in Franklin County should be directed to Ryan M. Buckingham, Director of Emergency Management at ryan.buckingham@franklincountyil.gov or by phone at (618) 439-4362.