Franklin County 911 Administrative Office

Staff and Duties

The 9-1-1 Administrative Office is located at 907 W. Washington St. in West City.  The main telephone number is 618-439-0911.  The staff is made up of two full-time employees and one part-time employee:
The Staff
Mr. Amos Abbott, Franklin County 9-1-1 Director:
Mr. Abbott was hired as the Franklin County 911 Director on February 18th, 2020. Mr. Abbott has served as a 911 Telecommunicator, Fire Chief, and EMT. Mr. Abbott's primary responsibilities include the overall management and administration of the Franklin County E911 system.
Mrs. Cathy Lamont, Deputy DIrector:
Mrs. Lamont's primary responsibility is to assist the Director in the operation and administration of the Franklin County 911 system.  Deputy Director Lamont serves as financial manager, organizes the monthly 911 board meetings and prepares reports for the annual audit. 
Mr. Richard Minton, System Technician:
Richard “Flip” Minton is responsible for the maintenance and repair of all the public safety hardware and software deployed by the FCJETSB.  His years of experience and his expertise are vital to the consistent operation of the Franklin County E911 System.  Mr. Minton also serves as a Detective Lieutenant of Investigations at the Franklin County Sheriff's Office.
Staff Duties
  • Prepare for and host monthly Board Meetings

  • Serve as Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) interface

  • Purchase Public Safety hardware and software

  • Maintain Public Safety hardware and software

  • Maintain fixed asset inventory

  • Vendor contract negotiations

  • Payment of bills

  • Financial audit preparation

  • Street address assignment/verification/corrections

  • Maintain Master Street Address Guide (MSAG)

  • Maintain the Franklin County 9-1-1 Map

  • Maintain the telephone number database

  • Dispatcher Certification Training

  • Policy preparation

  • Bylaw updates

  • Press Relations