Franklin County E-911 Overview

The current Enhanced 9-1-1 System in Franklin County is managed by the Franklin County Joint Emergency Telephone System Board (FCJETSB) which was created through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Franklin County Board, the City of Benton and the Village of West City in May of 2006.  The Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) granted authorization for the establishment of the Countywide 9-1-1 Authority in its order dated February 7, 2007.

Prior to this action, there were two 9-1-1 Authorities in Franklin County. The City of Benton and the Village of West City established a 9-1-1 System for their communities during the late 1980s. The Franklin County Board followed with the establishment of a second 9-1-1 Authority to service the rest of the County. This 9-1-1 Board held its first meeting on April 27, 1992.  Over the next four years, the County System was built and went “live” on June 25, 1996.

During the 10 year period when there were two 9-1-1 Systems in the County, it was determined that a single Countywide 9-1-1 Authority could provide public safety support more effectively and efficiently.  The formation of the joint 9-1-1 Board has produced enhanced 9-1-1 services for the citizens of Franklin County. 

Today, there are two Primary Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs) in Franklin County:  the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office and the West Frankfort Police Department.  The Dispatchers in these two centers answer over 17,000 9-1-1 calls a year. 

That is an average of 47 emergency calls per day.  Approximately 60% of all 9-1-1 calls involve the need for law enforcement officers.  30% of all 9-1-1 calls are for ambulance service and 10% are requests for fire department resources.  The West City Police Department and Abbott EMS serve as Secondary PSAPs.  Central Dispatch, located in Christopher, provides dispatch services for Public Safety Agencies in Christopher, Coello, Sesser, Valier and Zeigler.

81% of the 9-1-1 calls in Franklin County are made from cellular telephones.  19% are made from landline telephones. 

The funding to support the 9-1-1 System comes from surcharges applied to the bills of cellular and landline telephone subscribers.  The total income from these two sources equals about $350,000 per year.  It is the responsibility of the Franklin County Joint Emergency Telephone System Board to insure that these funds are spent appropriately and in accordance with the rules specified in the Emergency Telephone System Act.  The financials of the Board are audited every year.


Contact Information

9-1-1 Administrative Office

907 W. Washington St.

Benton, IL 62812



 (618) 439-0911


 (618) 435-4433